Local govt commission set up to oversee CDA, MCI

ISLAMABAD: According to a notification, a local government commission has been formulated under the chairpersonship of Nawaz Awan, member of the National Assembly, to oversee affairs of the Metropolitan Corporation Islamabad (MCI) and Capital Development Authority (CDA).

The commission’s members comprise of former Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and Senators Mushahid Hussain and Seemi Ezdi. Meanwhile, General Secretary of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s women wing (PTI) Tayyaba Ibrahim and the president of PTI youth wing’s Central region, Ali Bukhari will serve as the technocrat members of the commission.

The members will serve a five-year term each, as per the notification.

In addition, the Administrative Director at Islamabad Chief Commissioner’s Office will be appointed as the commission’s secretary. A Grade-19 official will be named by the Islamabad Capital Police (ICT) Chief Commissioner as the commission’s member.

Special Assistant to Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan had earlier announced the formation of the commission in December 2019, in a post-Cabinet briefing.

For news and blogs, visit Graana.com. 

About Maham Tahir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.