An Overview of Ayub Stadium, Quetta

Located in Quetta, Balochistan, Ayub National Stadium (previously known as the Balochistan Cricket Association Ground) is a multi-purpose venue. Primarily used for football matches, it’s part of the Ayub Sports Complex. This complex boasts a football pitch, tartan track, indoor game halls, handball court, and even two hockey turfs. The famous Bugti stadium is situated right next to this one.

invest with imarat

Islamabad’s emerging city centre

Learn More

In this blog, brings you a comprehensive guide to the Ayub National Stadium, Quetta. 




Feature Detail 
Capacity 20,000 
Former Name Baluchistan Cricket Association Ground 
City Quetta 
Country Pakistan 
Coordinates 30°12′14″N 66°59′53″E 


Ayub National Stadium: A History of Cricket, Football, and Challenges


aerial view of ayub stadium

Ayub National Stadium, is capable of accommodating up to 20,000 spectators and has a long history of holding international athletic events. It is one of the top cricket stadiums in Pakistan.

Situated at 30°12′14′′N 66°59′53′′E in Quetta, Balochistan, Pakistan, it hosted One Day International (ODI) cricket matches between India and Pakistan in 1978 and 1984. Remarkably, Ayub National Stadium hosted the inaugural One-Day International (ODI) cricket match between these two countries in this format in 1978.

The stadium also included a stage for football. It staged the first game of Pakistan and India’s three-game friendly series on June 12, 2005, which resulted in a 1-1 draw. In 2016 and 2017, the location hosted the Balochistan Football Cup, which carried on this tradition.

But mishandling and carelessness had their price. The stadium deteriorated over time and was left without even the most basic amenities, such as a pavilion and a suitable grass pitch for play. The venue’s main function shifted to political gatherings, which accelerated its deterioration.


Renovation and Renewed Use 

Fortunately, in March 2018, things took a different turn. In an effort to bring back athletic events to the stadium, renovations were started before 2019 National Games of Pakistan.

This refurbishment was a success. The Ufone 4G Balochistan Football Cup 2021 was held in November 2021 at the stadium. That tournament included the championship game between Muslim FC and Baloch Quetta,

It even had a major impact on Pakistan’s 2023 National Games. The stadium is part of the Ayub Sports Complex, which is a hub for multiple indoor sports. Some of those sports include handball, squash, tennis, volleyball, badminton, basketball, and martial arts. Football, tug-of-war, and athletics were all held in the stadium.


Recent Setback 

Even with the good progress, a new problem surfaced in the latter part of 2023. The running track at the stadium required immediate repairs because to considerable damage caused by political rallies organised by JUI-F, Pakistan Peoples Party, and PKMAP.


Highest Partnerships by Runs (ODI Matches)


image of bat and ball for cricket
Partners Runs Wkt Team Opposition Ground Match Date Scorecard 
MN Samuels, CH Gayle 372 2nd West Indies v Zimbabwe Canberra 24 Feb 2015 ODI # 3612 
SD Hope, JD Campbell 365 1st West Indies v Ireland Dublin 5 May 2019 ODI # 4128 
SR Tendulkar, R Dravid 331 2nd India v New Zealand Hyderabad (Deccan) 8 Nov 1999 ODI # 1523 
SC Ganguly, R Dravid 318 2nd India v Sri Lanka Taunton 26 May 1999 ODI # 1463 
Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman 304 1st Pakistan v Zimbabwe Bulawayo 20 Jul 2018 ODI # 4020 
Tamim Iqbal, Litton Das 292 1st Bangladesh v Zimbabwe Sylhet 6 Mar 2020 ODI # 4253 
V Kohli, Ishan Kishan 290 2nd India v Bangladesh Chattogram 10 Dec 2022 ODI # 4499 
WU Tharanga, ST Jayasuriya 286 1st Sri Lanka v England Leeds 1 Jul 2006 ODI # 2389 
DA Warner, TM Head 284 1st Australia v Pakistan Adelaide 26 Jan 2017 ODI # 3826 
Q de Kock, HM Amla 282* 1st South Africa v Bangladesh Kimberley 15 Oct 2017 ODI # 3923 
WU Tharanga, TM Dilshan 282 1st Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe Pallekele 10 Mar 2011 ODI # 3125 
A Jadeja, M Azharuddin 275* 4th India v Zimbabwe Cuttack 9 Apr 1998 ODI # 1311 
JAH Marshall, BB McCullum 274 1st New Zealand v Ireland Aberdeen 1 Jul 2008 ODI # 2727 
R Ravindra, DP Conway 273* 2nd New Zealand v England Ahmedabad 5 Oct 2023 ODI # 4658 
DA Warner, TM Head 269 1st Australia v England Melbourne 22 Nov 2022 ODI # 4480 
L Ronchi, GD Elliott 267* 6th New Zealand v Sri Lanka Dunedin 23 Jan 2015 ODI # 3588 
Inzamam-ul-Haq, Aamer Sohail 263 2nd Pakistan v New Zealand Sharjah 20 Apr 1994 ODI # 911 
DA Warner, SPD Smith 260 2nd Australia v Afghanistan Perth 4 Mar 2015 ODI # 3623 
DA Warner, MR Marsh 259 1st Australia v Pakistan Bengaluru 20 Oct 2023 ODI # 4675 
DA Warner, AJ Finch 258* 1st Australia v India Wankhede 14 Jan 2020 ODI # 4231 
SR Tendulkar, SC Ganguly 258 1st India v Kenya Paarl 24 Oct 2001 ODI # 1764 
D Ramdin, DM Bravo 258 3rd West Indies v Bangladesh Basseterre 25 Aug 2014 ODI # 3514 
Saleem Elahi, Abdul Razzaq 257 2nd Pakistan v South Africa Gqeberha 11 Dec 2002 ODI # 1916 
DA Miller, JP Duminy 256* 5th South Africa v Zimbabwe Hamilton 15 Feb 2015 ODI # 3601 
JJ Roy, AD Hales 256* 1st England v Sri Lanka Birmingham 24 Jun 2016 ODI # 3753 
Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni 256 4th India v England Cuttack 19 Jan 2017 ODI # 3821 
Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran 256 1st Afghanistan v Bangladesh Chattogram 8 Jul 2023 ODI # 4619 
SR Watson, RT Ponting 252* 2nd Australia v England Centurion 2 Oct 2009 ODI # 2905 
SR Tendulkar, SC Ganguly 252 1st India v Sri Lanka Colombo (RPS) 7 Jul 1998 ODI # 1344 
DA Miller, F du Plessis 252 4th South Africa v Australia Hobart 11 Nov 2018 ODI # 4069 
IJL Trott, AJ Strauss 250 2nd England v Bangladesh Birmingham 12 Jul 2010 ODI # 3026 
JE Root, AD Hales 248 2nd England v Pakistan Nottingham 30 Aug 2016 ODI # 3773 
RR Rossouw, HM Amla 247 1st South Africa v West Indies Johannesburg 18 Jan 2015 ODI # 3583 


Highest Partnerships by Runs (T20 Matches)

Partners Runs Wkt Team Opposition Ground Match Date Scorecard 
L Yamamoto-Lake, K Kadowaki-Fleming 258* 1st Japan v China Mong Kok 15 Feb 2024 T20I # 2470 
Usman Ghani, Hazratullah Zazai 236 1st Afghanistan v Ireland Dehradun 23 Feb 2019 T20I # 746 
DJM Short, AJ Finch 223 1st Australia v Zimbabwe Harare 3 Jul 2018 T20I # 683 
Dylan Steyn, S Davizi 220 1st Czech Rep. v Bulgaria Marsa 12 May 2022 T20I # 1529 
BA Pai, L Bruce 213* 1st Gibraltar v Bulgaria Marsa 13 May 2022 T20I # 1531 
Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam 203* 1st Pakistan v England Karachi 22 Sep 2022 T20I # 1793 
HG Munsey, KJ Coetzer 200 1st Scotland v Netherlands Dublin (Malahide) 16 Sep 2019 T20I # 884 
Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam 197 1st Pakistan v South Africa Centurion 14 Apr 2021 T20I # 1147 
RK Paudel, Kushal Malla 193 3rd Nepal v Mongolia Hangzhou 27 Sep 2023 T20I # 2255 
M Levitt, SA Engelbrecht 193 2nd Netherlands v Namibia Kirtipur 29 Feb 2024 T20I # 2488 
RK Singh, RG Sharma 190* 5th India v Afghanistan Bengaluru 17 Jan 2024 T20I # 2435 
GD Phillips, DP Conway 184 3rd New Zealand v West Indies Mount Maunganui 29 Nov 2020 T20I # 1110 
B McMullen, OJ Hairs 183 2nd Scotland v Italy Edinburgh 24 Jul 2023 T20I # 2160 
EJG Morgan, DJ Malan 182 3rd England v New Zealand Napier 8 Nov 2019 T20I # 1008 
T Manders, KS Leverock 179 1st Bermuda v Panama Buenos Aires 28 Feb 2023 T20I # 2009 
SV Samson, DJ Hooda 176 2nd India v Ireland Dublin (Malahide) 28 Jun 2022 T20I # 1586 
DA Miller, Q de Kock 174* 4th South Africa v India Guwahati 2 Oct 2022 T20I # 1803 
BA Pai, L Bruce 172* 1st Gibraltar v Bulgaria Marsa 23 Oct 2021 T20I # 1347 


This was all about Ayub cricket stadium. For more details. Visit 

invest with imarat Islamabad’s emerging city
Learn More
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top